Skip to main content
Banner Image

Book A SeatBook A Seat Book EquipmentBook Equipment My AccountMy Account Library HoursLibrary Hours Ask Us!Ask Us!

Check our COVID-19 Guide for updates on Library services and resources.

Faculty Support at RDC Library

Services and resources to support teaching and research at RDC.

Subject Guides

Subject Guides are "research starters" tailored to each subject area/discipline, that provide access to key library resources (e.g., subscription databases) as well as recommended print materials and websites.

Feel free to link directly to Subject Guides on handouts, course packs, and Blackboard sites. The link to each subject guide can be copied right from the browser, e.g., https://rdc.libguides.com/biology.

Collection Development

This Collection Development Guiding Document helps ensure that the Library's collection remains relevant to the changing needs of students and faculty, in accordance with the Library's mission and the guiding principles of the College. 

Send suggestions for additions to our collection to your School Librarian.

Linking eResources on Blackboard

Most publishers do not allow uploading of eResources into Blackboard. Instead, you can use permalinks (permanent or persistent links) from the Library's licensed databases for articles, e-books, and streaming videos.

Creating permalinks:

1.    Saves space in Blackboard’s servers.
2.    Gives us statistics on database usage.
3.    Introduces students to what databases look like and do (via a “database-view” of the article).

Off-campus, users will need either the VMWare Virtual Desktop or their 13-digit Library Barcode Number and PIN to access articles.

Use the Permanent URL

Note: In most eResources, the URL in a web browser's address bar is not a permanent link. The permanent link is usually included in the detailed database record for an item.

  • Find the eResource that you want to link to. Copy the permanent URL, which may also be called "permanent link", "persistent link", "permalink" or "stable link". See the tab that corresponds to your item type for information on how to find the Permanent URL.

Ensure Off-campus Access

  • To ensure the link will work off-campus, prepend it with the following URL if it is not already included: http://ezproxy.ardc.talonline.ca/login?url=
  • Your final URL should look something like this (with no spaces or line breaks): http://ezproxy.ardc.talonline.ca/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=a9h&AN=48982605&site=ehost-live
  • On-campus the article will open directly. Off-campus, students will be prompted to login with their 13-digit Library Barcode Number and PIN.

Select "Open in New Window" Option

  • Select the option "Open in New Window" to ensure the eResource opens outside of Blackboard.

Include Citation Information

  • Include a full citation for the resource. This will ensure that if the link breaks, students will be able to look up the resource outside of Blackboard.

Test Link

  • Switch to Student View Mode and test your links in Blackboard.

Ask for Help

  • If you have questions about linking eResources, or experience difficulty getting the linking to work properly, please Ask Us!

Persistent Link for Articles from EBSCO Databases:

  • View the full article record (click on the article title from within the search results).
  • From the Tools menu on the right-hand side, select Permalink.
  • The Permalink will appear at the top of the article record:

Persistent Link for JSTOR Articles:

  • View the full article record (click on the article title from within the search results).
  • Look for the Stable URL near the top left of the article record:

Persistent Link for Articles from Gale Databases:

  • View the full article record (click on the article title from within the search results).
  • From the menu below the search bar, click on Bookmark and copy the URL that appears.
  • To ensure the link will work off-campus, prepend it with the following URL: http://ezproxy.ardc.talonline.ca/login?url=
  • Your URL should look similar to this (with no spaces or line breaks): http://ezproxy.ardc.talonline.ca/login?url=http://tinyurl.galegroup.com/tinyurl/6gm7V5

Persistent Link for Project Muse Articles:

  • View the full article record (click on the article title from within the search results).
  • Underneatht he title and publication information for the article, click on the Downloaded link to view the PDF version. Copy the DOI link of the article and add this prefix: http://ezproxy.ardc.talonline.ca/login?url=
  • Your URL should look similar to this (with no spaces or line breaks): http://ezproxy.ardc.talonline.ca/login?url=https://doi.org/10.1353/csd.2014.0081

Persistent Link for Articles from Science Direct:

Persistent Link for Articles from ProQuest databases:

Persistent Link to Films on Demand Titles:

Persistent Link to Kanopy videos:

Persistent Link to Curio videos:

Persistent Link to Artstor Digital Library:

Persistent Link to an e-book from ProQuest Ebook Central:

Persistent Link to an e-book from EBSCO Databases:

  • View the full e-book record (click on the book title from within the search results).
  • From the Tools menu on the right-hand side, select Permalink.
  • The Permalink will appear at the top of the book record:

Within any Content Area, Learning Module, or Folder select Build Content > Web Link.

Step 1: Add Web Link Information

  • Name your link and paste the persistent URL into the URL box.

  • Ensure the link will work off-campus by prepending it with the following URL if it is not already included: http://ezproxy.ardc.talonline.ca/login?url=

 

Step 2: Add Description

  • Add a full citation for your resource.

 

Step 3: Ignore Attachments

  • Most publishers DO NOT allow uploading of eResources directly into Blackboard.

Step 4: Set Web Link Options

  • Set Open in New Window to Yes.

Step 5: Select Standard Options

  • Select other options as required.

Step 6: Submit and Test Link

  • Click Submit to add your link.

  • Switch to Student View and test your link.

Copyright Compliance in your Courses

As per RDC's Copyright Materials Acceptable Use Policy, all course resources should be copyright compliant or used under the fair dealing exemption of the Copyright Act. Our Copyright Guide can assist you with:

  • Understanding and making use of the fair dealing exemption of the Copyright Act
  • Finding and using openly-licensed materials and resources in your courses
  • Asking for permission from creators to use copyrighted materials
  • Encouraging copyright awareness in the classroom

For specific copyright questions, contact your School Librarian or email copyright@rdc.ab.ca.

Citation Tutorials for Blackboard

The Library has created tutorials for APA, MLA, and Chicago.

These tutorials can:

 

  • be integrated into a flipped-classroom-style library workshop on citation
  • be used as an introduction or quick refresher
  • include a completion certificate.

The citation tutorials have recently been transitioned to a new online format. The older Blackboard tutorial modules can be uploaded using these instructions but please note the Blackboard tutorial modules will no longer be updated.

APA

Chicago

MLA

Creative Commons License

Unless otherwise noted, these tutorials are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.

Academic Integrity

The library has created an Introduction to Academic Integrity tutorial to introduce students to the concepts of academic integrity, academic misconduct, plagiarism, and citation. Please contact your School Librarian if you would like to use this tutorial in conjunction with a Blackboard quiz.

RDC has the following policy and guidebook regarding academic integrity:

Open Educational Resources

Open Educational Resources (OERs) are teaching, learning, and research resources released under an open license that permits their free use and repurposing by others. OERs can be textbooks, full courses, lesson plans, videos, tests, software, or any other tool, material, or technique that supports access to knowledge. —SPARC Open Education Fact Sheet (pdf)

Visit our OER Guide to:

  • Learn more about OERs
  • Identify and use open licenses and Creative Commons licenses
  • Find OERs to use in your courses
  • Learn how to create your own OER, or adapt someone else's to fit your needs

Reserves

Reserves (short-term loan items) are located at the Library Desk in the Library Information Common on the main campus, and at the Learning Commons Information Desk at the Donald School of Business. 

How do I put materials on Reserve?

Fill out our Reserves Form.

  • Use a separate form for each item.
  • Item(s) sent via campus mail must be addressed: Attention: Library Circulation Reserves. Include a copy of your request with your item(s).
  • Please allow 48 hours processing time once received.
  • Default loan period is two hours unless otherwise requested.
  • If there is a Copyright concern, we will contact you.

What kind of material can be placed on Reserve?

  • Personal materials of instructors for which they own the copyright (e.g. assignment questions/solutions).
  • Original print books, textbooks (provided it is not a complimentary textbook for instructor review), DVDs, CDs, etc.
  • Anything held within the Library collection.
Fill out my online form.
HTML Forms powered by Wufoo.

Textbook Collection

For many students, textbook costs can be a barrier. In order to provide another means of access, the Library is partnering with the Campus Store to build a Textbook Collection using Library funds. 

This project started in Fall 2018, and we have acquired a number of textbooks for our Reserves collection. Our focus has been on purchasing  costly titles (around $100 or more) that support introductory/first year courses or classes with multiple sections. The majority of these texts are available to checkout from the Reserves collection at the main Library desk for two hours at a time. Textbooks pertaining to business are located at the DSB.  Note that textbooks that come with a single-user online access component will only be available without that access. 

Students can search the catalogue for a particular textbook or come and browse the collection.

Select textbooks are available for the following classes:

  • ACCT 204
  • ANTH 200 & 201 
  • ART 201 & 305 
  • BADM 110 &132
  • BIOL 217 & 218
  • BUS 201 & 311
  • CHEM 203, 211, & 351
  • COMM 150, 250, & 271
  • ECON 100 & 201
  • EDAS 116 & 152
  • EDUC 250
  • EET 210;  ELCC 201 & 215
  • ENCP 200
  • ENGG 230
  • ENGL 095, 219, & 220
  • FAM 315
  • GET 106, 111, & 116
  • HSCI 105
  • INTP 102
  • JUST 100
  • KNSS 204 & 210
  • MATH 202
  • PHIL 201
  • PHYS 075, 095, 205, & 258
  • POLI 201
  • PSYC 260, 313, 353, & 375
  • SOCI 260
  • SOWK 201, 301
  • STAT 251