Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Red Deer College

Book SpaceBook Space Book AppointmentBook Appointment Library AccountLibrary Account Library HoursLibrary Hours Ask Us!Ask Us!

Banner Image

Chicago Citation Style 17th Edition

This guide will help you cite sources in Chicago Citation Style 17th Edition.

Chicago-Style Citation Quick Guide

Basic Website

Numbers in parentheses refer to specific pages in The Chicago Manual (17th ed.) 

General Format

Full Note

1. Author First Name Surname, "Title of Page," Title or Owner of Site, date last modified or accessed, URL.

Shortened Note

2. Author Surname, "Title of Page."

Bibliography

Author Surname, First Name. "Title of Page." Title or Owner of Site. Date last modified or accessed. URL.

Example

Full Note

1. K. A. Johnson and J. A. Becker, "The Whole Brain Atlas," Harvard University Medical School, accessed April 29, 2011, http://www.med.harvard.edu/AANLIB/. 

Shortened Note

2. Johnson and Becker, "The Whole Brain Atlas."

Bibliography

Johnson, K. A., and J. A. Becker. "The Whole Brain Atlas." Harvard University Medical School. Accessed April 29, 2011. http://www.med.harvard.edu/AANLIB/.

Tips

See The Chicago Manual (pp. 844-46) for more information on citing a basic website.

If there is no author, use the title or owner of the website, and move it to the author position.

Online Reference Work

Numbers in parentheses refer to specific pages in The Chicago Manual (17th ed.) 

General Format [with author and editor (p. 859)]

Full Note

1. Author First Name Surname, "Title of Entry," in Title of Reference Book, edited by Editor First Name Surname (Publisher, Year), URL.

Shortened Note

2. Author Surname, "Title of Entry."

Bibliography

Author Surname, First Name. "Title of Entry." In Title of Reference Book, edited by Editor First Name Surname. Publisher, Year. URL.

Example

Full Note

1. Sylvia Bruzzi, "Sainthood," in The Oxford Encyclopedia of Islam and Women, edited by Natana J. DeLong-Bas (Oxford University Press, 2013), https://doi.org/10.1093/acref:oiso/9780199764464.001.0001. 

Shortened Note

2. Bruzzi, "Sainthood."

Bibliography

Bruzzi, Sylvia. "Sainthood." In The Oxford Encyclopedia of Islam and Women, edited by Natana J. DeLong-Bas. Oxford University Press, 2013. https://doi.org/10.1093/acref:oiso/9780199764464.001.0001.

General Format [no author or editor (pp. 858-59)]

Full Note

1. Source Name, s.v. "Title of Entry," Date of Access, URL.

Shortened Note

2. Source Name, s.v. "Title of Entry."

Bibliography

Source Name. s.v. "Title of Entry." Date of Access. URL.

Example

Full Note

1. Merriam-Webster, s.v. "haptic (adj.)," accessed January 14, 2021, https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/haptic. 

Shortened Note

2. Merriam-Webster, s.v. "haptic (adj.)."

Bibliography

Merriam-Webster. s.v. "haptic (adj.)." Accessed January 14, 2021. https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/haptic.

Tips

See The Chicago Manual (pp. 858-59) for more information on online reference works.

If there is no publication or revision date, supply an access date instead.

"s.v." stands for sub verbo, which means "under the word." It is used to refer to an entry in a dictionary or encyclopedia.

Canadian Government Publication from a Website

Numbers in parentheses refer to specific pages in The Chicago Manual (17th ed.) 

General Format

Full Note

1. Canada, Name of Government Body/Division, Publication Title, (Place of Publication: Publisher, Year), URL.

Shortened Note

2. Canada, Name of Government Body/Division, Publication Title.

Bibliography

Canada. Name of Government Body/Division. Publication Title. Place of Publication: Publisher, Year. URL.

Example

Full Note

1. Canada, Royal Commission on Aboriginal Peoples, Report, (Ottawa: Canada Communication Group Publishing, 1996), http://www.ainc-inac.gc.ca/ch/rcap/sg/sgmm_e.html.

Shortened Note

2. Canada, Royal Commission on Aboriginal Peoples, Report.

Bibliography

Canada. Royal Commission on Aboriginal Peoples. Report. Ottawa: Canada Communication Group Publishing, 1996. http://www.ainc-inac.gc.ca/ch/rcap/sg/sgmm_e.html.