Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Red Deer College

Book SpaceBook Space Book AppointmentBook Appointment Library AccountLibrary Account Library HoursLibrary Hours Ask Us!Ask Us!

Banner Image

Chicago Citation Style 17th Edition

This guide will help you cite sources in Chicago Citation Style 17th Edition.

Chicago-Style Citation Quick Guide

Online Multimedia: YouTube Video

Numbers in parentheses refer to specific pages in the Chicago 17th Edition manual.

Online Multimedia and Apps (pp. 873-75)

This format may vary depending on the type of online multimedia and the information available. For videos designed to run in your browser (eg. Chrome), a specific file format does not need to be mentioned.

General Format

Full Note:
1. Author First Name Surname, Multimedia Title (Place of Publication: Publisher, Year), Format, URL.   

Shortened Note:
2. Author Surname, Multimedia Title.

Bibliography:
Author Surname, First Name or Initial. Multimedia Title. Place of Publication: Publisher, Year. Format, URL.

Example: YouTube Video (CMOS Q&A)

Full Note:
1. Neil Gaiman, "How Stories Last | Neil Gaiman," Long Now Foundation, posted May 3, 2013, YouTube video, 1:43:27, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Xn2n7N7Q2vw.

Shortened Note:
2. Gaiman, "How Stories Last."

Bibliography:
Gaiman, Neil. " How Stories Last | Neil Gaiman." Long Now Foundation. Posted on May 3, 2013. YouTube video, 1:47:27. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Xn2n7N7Q2vw.

Lecture or Course Notes

Numbers in parentheses refer to specific pages in the Chicago 17th Edition manual.

Lecture or Course Notes (p. 852)

General Format

Full Note:
1. Lecturer First Name Surname, "Lecture Title" (lecture, Location of Lecture, Month Day, Year of Lecture).

Shortened Note:
2. Lecturer Surname, "Lecture Title."

Bibliography:
Lecturer Surname, First Name. "Lecture Title." Lecture, Location of Lecture, Month Day, Year of Lecture.

Example

Full Note:
1. G. C. Sullivan, "The Art of Watercolours" (lecture, Red Deer College, Red Deer, AB, November 13, 2003). 

Shortened Note:
2. Sullivan, "The Art of Watercolours."

Bibliography:
Sullivan, G.C. "The Art of Watercolours." Lecture, Red Deer College, Red Deer, AB, November 13, 2003.

Citations Taken from Secondary Sources

Numbers in parentheses refer to specific pages in the Chicago 17th Edition manual.

Secondary Source (p. 868)

Sometimes an author will quote work someone else has done, but you are unable to track down the original source. In this case, both the original and the secondary source must be listed in the note and the bibliography.

If, for example, you were reading a book and the author of the book below, (that would be Sarah Gwyneth Ross) made reference to the work done by another author below, (that would be Astrik L. Gabriel), you would refer to the work as per the layout below.

General Format

Full Note:
1. Author First Name Surname {original author}, Title (Place of Publication: Publisher, Year), page number, quoted in Author First Name Surname {the author of the book that refers to the thoughts/ideas of the other author}), Title (Place of Publication: Publisher, Year), page #.

Shortened Note:
2. Author Surname {original author}, Title, page #.

Bibliography:
Author Surname, First Name {original author}. Title. Place of Publication: Publisher, Year. Quoted in Author First Name Surname {the author of the book that refers to the thoughts/ideas of the other author}. Title. Place of Publication: Publisher, Year, page #.

Example

Full Note:
1. Astrik L. Gabriel, "The Educational Ideas of Christine de Pisan," Journal of the History of Ideas 16, no. 1 (1995): 3-21, quoted in Sarah Gwyneth Ross, The Birth of Feminism: Women as Intellect in Renaissance Italy and England (Cambridge: Harvard University Press, 2009), 23.

Shortened Note:
2. Gabriel, "The Educational Ideas," 3-21.

Bibliography:
Gabriel, Astrik L.. "The Educational Ideas of Christine de Pisan." Culture and ImperialismJournal of the History of Ideas 16, no. 1 (1995). Quoted in Sarah Gwyneth Ross. The Birth of Feminism: Women as Intellect in Renaissance Italy and England. Cambridge: Harvard University Press, 2009, 23.

Blog Post

Numbers in parentheses refer to specific pages in the Chicago 17th Edition manual.

Blog entries (pp. 845-47)

Citations of blog entries are usually only found in the notes. If a blog website is cited frequently, it may be included in the bibliography.

General Format

Full Note:
1. Author First Name Surname, "Blog Entry Title," Blog Title 
(blog), Date, URL.     Tip: If the blog is part of a larger publication or website, Italicize that title and place it after the blog title separated by a comma.

Shortened Note:
2. Author Surname, "Article Title."

Bibliography:
Author Surname, First Name. "Blog Entry Title." Blog Title (blog). 
Date. URL.    

Example

Full Note:
1.  Robin Hanson, "On Thought Leaders," Overcoming Bias (blog), December 12, 2017, http://www.overcomingbias.com/2017/12/on-thought-leaders.html55.  

Shortened Note:
2. Hanson, "On Thought Leaders."

Bibliography: 
Hanson, Robin. Overcoming Bias 
(blog). http://www.overcomingbias.com/.     

Paintings, Photographs, and Sculptures from an Electronic Source

Numbers in parentheses refer to specific pages in the Chicago 17th Edition manual.

Paintings, Photographs, and Sculptures from an Electronic Source (pp. 859-60)

General Format

Full Note:
1. Author First Name Surname, Image Title, Year, Medium, Format, Location of physical version (if applicable), URL. 

Shortened Note:
2. Author Surname, Image Title.

Bibliography:
Author Surname, First Name. Image Title. Year. Medium, Format. Location of physical version (if applicable), URL.

Example

Full Note:
1. Georgia O'Keefe, A Sunflower from Maggie, 1937, oil on canvas, 40.64 x 50.8 cm (16 x 20 in.), Museum of Fine Arts, Boston, http://library.artstor.org.ezproxy.ardc.talonline.ca/asset/AMICO_BOSTON_103832223.

Shortened Note:
2. O'Keefe, A Sunflower from Maggie.

Bibliography:
O'Keefe, Georgia. A Sunflower from Maggie.1937. Oil on canvas, 40.64 x 50.8 cm (16 x 20 in.). Museum of Fine Arts, Boson, http://library.artstor.org.ezproxy.ardc.talonline.ca/asset/AMICO_BOSTON_103832223.

Tip: For more information about citing and attributing images, please see RDP Library's Copyright Guide: Citing & Attributing Works.

Paintings, Photographs, and Sculptures from a Print Source

Numbers in parentheses refer to specific pages in the Chicago 17th Edition manual.

Paintings, Photographs, and Sculptures from a Print Source (pp. 859-60)

General Format

Full Note:
1. Author First Name Surname, "Photograph Title," Year Photo was Taken (if provided), in Book Title (Place of Publication: Publisher, Year), page or plate #.

Shortened Note:
2. Author Surname, "Photograph Title."

Bibliography:
Author Surname, First Name. "Photograph Title." Year Photo was Taken (if provided). In Book Title. Place of Publication: Publisher, Year, page or plate #.

Example

Full Note:
1. Franz Jansen, "8 O'Clock," 1920, in German Expressionist Woodcuts, ed. Shane Weller (New York: Dover Publications, 1994), plate 12. 

Shortened Note:
2. Jansen, "8 O'Clock." 

Bibliography:
Jansen, Franz. "8 O'Clock." 1920. In German Expressionist Woodcuts, edited by Shane Weller. New York: Dover Publications, 1994, plate 12.

Tip: For more information about citing and attributing images, please see RDP Library's Copyright Guide: Citing & Attributing Works.
Information on citing an illustration or table within a resource can be found on p. 824.

Streaming Video from a Database

Numbers in parentheses refer to specific pages in the Chicago 17th Edition manual.

Streaming Video from a Database ("DVDs and videocassettes" and "Online Multimedia") (pp. 872-74)

General Format

Full Note:
1. Author First Name Surname, Title, (Publisher, Date), from Database, format, Duration of video, URL.

Shortened Note:
2. Multimedia Title.

Bibliography:
Author Surname, First Name or Initial. Multimedia Title. Publisher, Date. Format. From Database. Duration. URL.

Example

Full Note:
1.
Amy S. Weber and Ryan Demetrak, Information Literacy: The Perils of Online Research, (Cambridge Educational, 2006), from Films on Demand, video, 21:37, https://fod.infobase.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?wID=103278&xtid=35675.

Concise Note:
2. Information Literacy.

Bibliography:
Weber, Amy S. and Ryan Demetrak. Information Literacy: The Perials of Online Reserach, Cambridge Educational, 2006. Video. From Films on Demand. 21:37. https://fod.infobase.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?wID=103278&xtid=35675.

Indigenous Elders and Knowledge Keepers

Unlike other personal communications, Elders and Knowledge Keepers should be cited in the notes and in the bibliography. The formal Chicago Style does not have a format for Indigenous Elders and Knowledge Keepers, so these guidelines have been adapted from NorQuest College (CC BY-NC 4.0) and developed in consultation with Lorisia MacLeod (James Smith Cree Nation, MLIS).

Indigenous Elders and Knowledge Keepers

General Format

Full Note:
1. First Names Last Name, Nation/Community, Treaty territory if applicable, City/Community they live in if applicable, Topic/subject of communication if applicable, Personal communication, Month Date, Year.

Bibliography:
Last Name, First Names, Nation/Community, Treaty territory if applicable, City/Community they live in if applicable. Topic/subject of communication if applicable. Personal communication. Month Date, Year.

Example

Full Note:
1. Delores Cardinal, Goodfish Lake Cree Nation, Treaty 6, lives in Edmonton, Oral teaching, Personal communication, April 4, 2004.

Bibliography:
Cardinal, Delores, Goodfish Lake Cree Nation, Treaty 6, lives in Edmonton. Oral teaching. Personal communication. April 4, 2004.

Note

If you would like to approach an Elder or Knowledge Keeper for teachings, remember to follow protocol. If you are unsure what their protocol is, please ask them ahead of time.