Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Red Deer College

Book SpaceBook Space Book AppointmentBook Appointment Library AccountLibrary Account Library HoursLibrary Hours Ask Us!Ask Us!

Banner Image

Chicago Citation Style 17th Edition

This guide will help you cite sources in Chicago Citation Style 17th Edition.

Chicago-Style Citation Quick Guide

Book (p. 799)

Numbers in parentheses refer to specific pages in The Chicago Manual (17th ed.) 

General Format

Full Note

1. Author First Name Surname, Book Title: Subtitle (Place of Publication: Publisher, Year), page #.

Shortened Note

2. Author Surname, Book Title, page #. 

Bibliography

Author Surname, First Name or Initial. Book Title: Subtitle. Place of Publication: Publisher, Year.

Example

Full Note

1. Salman Rushdie, The Ground beneath Her Feet (New York: Henry Holt, 1999), 25. 

Shortened Note

2. Rushdie, The Ground beneath, 28.

Bibliography

Rushdie, Salman. The Ground beneath Her Feet. New York: Henry Holt, 1999.

Tips

See The Chicago Manual (pp. 799-828) for more information and examples on citing books.

E-Book

General Format

Full Note

1. Author First Name Surname, Book Title: Subtitle (Place of Publication: Publisher, Year), Format, page #.

Shortened Note

2. Author Surname, Book Title, page #. 

Bibliography

Author Surname, First Name or Initial. Book Title: Subtitle. Place of Publication: Publisher, Year. Format.

Example 1

Full Note

1. William Rayner, Canada on the Doorstep: 1939 (Toronto: Dundurn, 2011), Ebrary e-book, 93.

Shortened Note

2. Rayner, Canada on the Doorstep, 93

Bibliography

Rayner, William. Canada on the Doorstep: 1939. Toronto: Dundurn, 2011. Ebrary e-book.

Example 2

Full Note

1. Elliot Antokoletz, Musical Symbolism in the Operas of Debussy and Bartok (New York: Oxford University Press, 2008), doi:10.1093/acprof:oso/9780195365825.001.0001.

Shortened Note

2.  Antokoletz, Musical Symbolism.

Bibliography

Antokoletz, Elliot. Musical Symbolism in the Operas of Debussy and Bartok. New York: Oxford University Press, 2008. doi:10.1093/acprof:oso/9780195365825.001.0001.

Tips

See The Chicago Manual for more information and examples on citing e-books requiring a specific application or device (pp. 824-25) and books consulted online (pp. 826-27).

Page numbers may vary based on the e-book viewer used. In these cases it is preferred to use chapter or paragraph numbers if they are provided (eg. chap. 2 or para. 11).

Contribution to a Multi-Author Book

General Format

Full Note

1. Author First Name Surname, "Chapter Title in Quotation Marks," in Book Title: Subtitle, ed. Editor First Name Surname (Place of Publication: Publisher, Year), page #.

Shortened Note

2. Author Surname, "Chapter Title in Quotation Marks," page #. 

Bibliography

Author Surname, First Name or Initial. "Chapter Title in Quotation Marks." In Book Title: Subtitle, edited by Editor First Name Surname, page range of chapter. Place of Publication: Publisher, Year.

Example

Full Note

1. Bob Stewart, "Wag of the Tail: Reflecting on Pet Ownership," in Enriching Our Lives with Animals, ed. John Jaimeson, Tony Bannerman and Selena Wong (Toronto, ON: Petlove Press, 2007),100. 

Shortened Note

2. Stewart, "Wag of the Tail," 102.

Bibliography

Stewart, Bob. "Wag of the Tail: Reflecting on Pet Ownership." In Enriching Our Lives with Animals, edited by John Jaimeson, Tony Bannerman and Selena Wong, 97-105. Toronto, ON: Petlove Press, 2007.

Tips

See The Chicago Manual (p. 803) for more information on citing one contribution in a multi-author book.

See The Chicago Manual (pp. 799-828) for more information and examples on citing books.

Entry in a Reference Work (e.g. Encyclopedia, Dictionary, etc.)

Numbers in parentheses refer to specific pages in The Chicago Manual (17th ed.) 

General Format

Full Note

1. Author First Name Surname, "Title of Entry," in Title of Reference Book, edited by Editor First Name Surname (Publisher, Year), URL.

Shortened Note

2. Author Surname, "Title of Entry."

Bibliography

Author Surname, First Name. "Title of Entry." In Title of Reference Book, edited by Editor First Name Surname. Publisher, Year. URL.

Examples

Full Note

1. Sylvia Bruzzi, "Sainthood," in The Oxford Encyclopedia of Islam and Women, edited by Natana J. DeLong-Bas (Oxford University Press, 2013), https://doi.org/10.1093/acref:oiso/9780199764464.001.0001.

Shortened Note

2. Bruzzi, "Sainthood."

Bibliography

Bruzzi, Sylvia. "Sainthood." In The Oxford Encyclopedia of Islam and Women, edited by Natana J. DeLong-Bas. Oxford University Press, 2013. https://doi.org/10.1093/acref:oiso/9780199764464.001.0001.

Tips

See The Chicago Manual (pp. 858-59) for more information on reference book entries, online, with author and editor.

This format would also work as a base to cite reference works from Credo Reference.

If there is no publication or revision date, supply an access date instead.

"s.v." stands for sub verbo, which means "under the word." It is used to refer to an entry in a dictionary or encyclopedia.