Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Red Deer College

Book SpaceBook Space Book AppointmentBook Appointment Library AccountLibrary Account Library HoursLibrary Hours Ask Us!Ask Us!

Banner Image

Faculty Support at RDP Library

Services and resources to support teaching and research at RDP.

Subject Guides

Subject Guides are "research starters" tailored to each subject area/discipline, that provide access to key library resources (e.g., subscription databases) as well as recommended print materials and websites.

Feel free to link directly to Subject Guides on handouts, course packs, and Blackboard sites. The link to each subject guide can be copied right from the browser, e.g., https://rdc.libguides.com/biology.

Link e-Resources in Blackboard

Why Use Permalinks

  • Most publishers do not allow uploading PDFs into Blackboard. Instead, use permalinks for the Library's licensed databases for articles, e-books, and streaming videos.
  • Using permalinks:
    • Saves space on Blackboard's servers.
    • Gives the Library statistics on resource usage
    • Introduces students to what databases look like and do (via a “database-view” of the article).

Finding Permalinks

  • Permanent URLs may also be called "permanent links", "persistent links", "permalinks" or "stable links". For most eResources, the URL in a web browser's address bar is not a permanent link.
  • Find the eResource you wish to link to, then copy the permalink for inclusion in your course. Find permalinks for:

Ensuring Off-campus Access

  • To ensure your link will work off-campus, prepend it with the following URL if it is not already included: https://ezproxy.ardc.talonline.ca/login?url=
  • Your final URL should look similar to this (with no spaces or line breaks): https://ezproxy.ardc.talonline.ca/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=a9h&AN=48982605&site=ehost-live
  • On-campus the resource will open directly. Off-campus, students will be prompted to login with their 13-digit Library Barcode Number and PIN. Suggested wording to include in your course:
To access Library resources (articles, ebooks, streaming videos) from off-campus, enter your 13-digit iCard barcode number and your NEOS PIN when prompted. Get help with your barcode or PIN.

Adding Permalinks to Blackboard

  • Select the option "Open in New Window" to ensure the eResource opens outside of Blackboard.
  • Include a full citation for the resource. This will ensure that if the link breaks, students will be able to look up the resource outside of Blackboard.
  • Switch to Student View Mode and test your links in Blackboard.
  • Add Links in Blackboard - Show Me!

Cite & Attribute e-Resources

Include a full citation for any e-resources included in your Blackboard course:

  • This ensures that if the link breaks, students will be able to look up the resource outside of Blackboard.
  • For information and examples, visit Citing & Attributing Works on the Copyright Guide.

If you have questions about linking eResources, or experience difficulty getting the linking to work properly, please Ask Us!

EBSCO Database Articles

  • View Detailed Record (click on article title from search results)
  • From Tools menu (right-hand side), click on Permalink
  • The Permalink will appear at the top of the article record:
  • Your URL should look similar to this (with no spaces or line breaks): https://ezproxy.ardc.talonline.ca/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=ehh&AN=128497819

JSTOR Articles


Gale Database Articles 


Project Muse Articles


Science Direct Articles 


ProQuest databases Articles

Artstor Digital Library Videos

  • Artstor videos cannot be embedded, only linked
  • View video full record (click on video title from search results)
  • On the right-hand side of video, look for the Copy box; click to copy the video URL (no need to add a prepend)
  • Your URL should look similar to this (with no spaces or line breaks): https://library-artstor-org.ezproxy.ardc.talonline.ca/public/24909722

Criterion-on-Demand Videos


Curio Videos


Films on Demand Videos


Kanopy Videos

  • Kanopy videos can be embedded and linked
  • Click on the Share link, located below the video
  • To link to the video:
  • To embed the video
    • Copy the Embed Code (no need to add a prepend)
    • In Blackboard, create an Item
    • Using the toolbar, switch to Source Code view  [show me]
    • Paste the copied embed code
    • Add context and citation information
    • View our printable instructions with screen captures 
    • View Embedding Films information from Kanopy

National Film Board of Canada (NFB)

  • NFB videos can be embedded and linked
  • To link to the video:
  • To embed the video
    • Click on the Embed icon (</>) located below the video
    • Copy the Embed Code (no need to add a prepend)
    • In Blackboard, create an Item
    • Using the toolbar, switch to Source Code view  [show me]
    • Paste the copied embed code
    • Add context and citation information
    • View our printable instructions with screen captures
    • TIP! For additional instructor features such as playlist creation and film chaptering, activate an NFB Campus personal profile. For more information and the activation key, contact your Subject Librarian

ProQuest Ebook Central


EBSCO Databases E-books

  • View full e-book record (click on e-book title from search results)
  • From the Tools menu on the right-hand side, select Permalink.
  • The Permalink will appear at the top of the book record:
  • Your URL should look similar to this (with no spaces or line breaks): https://ezproxy.ardc.talonline.ca/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=cat02730a&AN=rdc.8137152&site=eds-live

Within any Content Area, Learning Module, or Folder select Build Content > Web Link.

Step 1: Add Web Link Information

  • Name your link and paste the persistent URL into the URL box.
  • Ensure the link will work off-campus by prepending it with the following URL if it is not already included: http://ezproxy.ardc.talonline.ca/login?url=

 

Step 2: Add Description

  • Add a full citation for your resource.

 

Step 3: Ignore Attachments

  • Most publishers DO NOT allow uploading of eResources directly into Blackboard.

Step 4: Set Web Link Options

  • Set Open in New Window to Yes.

Step 5: Select Standard Options

  • Select other options as required.

Step 6: Submit and Test Link

  • Click Submit to add your link.

  • Switch to Student View and test your link.

Citation Tutorials for Blackboard

The Library has created tutorials for APA, MLA, and Chicago. These tutorials can:

  • be integrated into a flipped-classroom-style library workshop on citation
  • be used as an introduction or quick refresher
  • include a completion certificate

The citation tutorials have recently been transitioned to a new online format. The older Blackboard tutorial modules can be uploaded using these instructions but please note the Blackboard tutorial modules will no longer be updated.

 

APA

Chicago

MLA

Creative Commons License

Unless otherwise noted, these tutorials are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.

Academic Integrity

The library has created an Introduction to Academic Integrity guide to introduce students to the concepts of academic integrity, academic misconduct, plagiarism, and citation. Please contact your Subject Librarian if you would like to use this tutorial in conjunction with a Blackboard quiz.

Red Deer Polytechnic has the following policy and guidebook regarding academic integrity:

Copyright Compliance in your Courses

As per Red Deer Polytechnic's Copyright Materials Acceptable Use Policy, all course resources should be copyright compliant or used under the fair dealing exemption of the Copyright Act. Our Copyright Guide can assist you with:

  • Understanding and making use of the fair dealing exemption of the Copyright Act
  • Finding and using openly-licensed materials and resources in your courses
  • Asking for permission from creators to use copyrighted materials
  • Encouraging copyright awareness in the classroom

For specific copyright questions, contact your Subject Librarian or email copyright@rdpolytech.ca.

Open Educational Resources

Open Educational Resources (OERs) are teaching, learning, and research resources released under an open license that permits their free use and repurposing by others. OERs can be textbooks, full courses, lesson plans, videos, tests, software, or any other tool, material, or technique that supports access to knowledge. —SPARC Open Education Fact Sheet (pdf)

Visit our OER Guide to:

  • Learn more about OERs
  • Identify and use open licenses and Creative Commons licenses
  • Find OERs to use in your courses
  • Learn how to create your own OER, or adapt someone else's to fit your needs

Reserves Form

Textbook Collection

For many students, textbook costs can be a barrier. In order to provide another means of access, the Library has partnered with the Campus Store to build a Textbook Collection using Library funds. 

This project started in Fall 2018, and we have acquired a number of textbooks for our Reserves collection. Our focus has been to purchase costly titles ($100 or more) that support introductory/first year courses or classes with multiple sections. The majority of these texts are available to checkout from the Reserves collection at the Library Desk for two hours at a time. Note that textbooks that include a single-user online access component will only be available without that access. 

Students can search the catalogue for a particular textbook or come and browse the collection.

Select textbooks are available for the following classes:

  • ACCT 204 - Managerial Accounting
  • ANTH 200 - Physical Anthropology & Archaeology
  • ANTH 201 - Cultural Anthropology
  • ART 201/203 - Janson's History of Art
  • ASTR 205Essen Cosmic Perspective (Coming Soon)
  • BADM 110 - MGMT
  • BADM 132 - MKTG
  • BIOL 85/95 - Inquiry into Life
  • BIOL 217 & 218 - Campbell Biology Canadian ed.
  • BUS 311 - Managing the Law
  • CHEM 203/211 - Chemistry: The Molecular Nature of Matter and Change
  • CHEM 351 - Organic Chemistry: Mechanistic Patterns
  • COMM 150 - Exploring Writing
  • COMM 250 - Essentials of Business Communication
  • COMM 271 - First Look at Communication Theory
  • ECON 201 - Microeconomics
  • EDAS 116 - Interplay: The Process of Interpersonal Communication
  • EDAS 152 - Special Education in Canada
  • EDUC 250 - Becoming a Teacher
  • ELCC 201 - Healthy Foundations in Early Childhood Settings
  • ELCC 210/220/310/320 - Developmentally Appropriate Practice (w/CD)
  • ENGG 230 - Engineering Mechanics: Statistics and Dynamics
  • ENGL 75 - Inside Stories II and Essay Essentials with Readings
  • FAM 315 - Intimate Relationships, Marriages, & Families
  • JUST 100 - Thinking about Criminal Justice in Canada
  • KNSS 214 - Principles & Labs for Fitness & Wellness
  • LEGL 145 - Criminal Law & the Canadian Criminal Code
  • MATH 212 - Calculus: Early Transcendentals
  • PHIL 201 - Exploring Ethics
  • PHYS 75/85/95 - Pearson Physics Revised Student Edition 2018
  • PHYS 205 - College Physics (Coming Soon)
  • PHYS 258 - Principles of Human Physiology
  • POLI 201 - Intro to Politics
  • PSYC 260/261 - Psychology: Themes & Variations
  • PSYC 313 - Research Methods for the Behavioral Sciences
  • PSYC 353 - Developmental Psychology
  • PSYC 375 - Introduction to Brain & Behavior
  • SOCI 260/261 - Sociology in Action
  • SOWK 201 - Working with People
  • SOWK 204 - Social Work Ethics
  • SOWK 207 - Social Work in Canada: an Introduction

Collection Development

This Collection Development Guiding Document helps ensure that the Library's collection remains relevant to the changing needs of students and faculty, in accordance with the Library's mission and the guiding principles of the College. 

Send suggestions for additions to our collection to your Subject Librarian.