Skip to main content
Banner Image

Book A SeatBook A Seat Book EquipmentBook Equipment My AccountMy Account Library HoursLibrary Hours Ask Us!Ask Us!

RDC Library during the COVID-19 Pandemic: Home

Information about Red Deer College Library services, resources, and spaces, during the COVID-19 Pandemic.

RDC Library's Response to the COVID-19 Pandemic

This page provides information about RDC Library services, resources, and spaces during the COVID-19 pandemic. 

Information about RDC classes, services, and spaces can be found here

Library Spaces

RDC Library OPEN online, but CLOSED to in-person traffic

Until August 30: RDC Library staff are available online Monday to Friday, 8:30am-4:30pm, by chat, text, phone, or email. Contact information is in the "Contact RDC Library" box on this page.

RDC Library is closed to in-person traffic from noon on March 18, until August 30. 

RDC Library Re-Opening August 31

Beginning August 31, the Library will re-open for RDC students, faculty, and staff with limited in-person hours and regular online hours. There will continue to be no access for community members.

  In-Person Online
Monday 8:00am - 4:30pm 8:00am - 9:00pm
Tuesday 8:00am - 4:30pm 8:00am - 9:00pm
Wednesday 8:00am - 4:30pm 8:00am - 9:00pm
Thursday 8:00am - 4:30pm 8:00am - 9:00pm
Friday 8:00am - 4:30pm 8:00am - 6:00pm
Saturday CLOSED 12:00pm - 5:00pm
Sunday 12:00pm - 8:00pm 12:00pm - 8:00pm

Makerspace CLOSED

The Makerspace is closed until further notice. 

Research Common CLOSED (but available by appointment)

The Research Common space in the Library is closed, but appointments are available. Email researchcommon@rdc.ab.ca to set up a phone or videoconference appointment.

Library Materials (including Laptops & Equipment)

Library Materials and Resources

Current Checkouts

Do you currently have Library materials checked out? You have a few options:

  • Keep them. All due dates have been changed to September 30, so feel free to keep items until then. No fines will accrue.
  • Bring them back. While we're closed to in-person visits, feel free to return library materials to RDC Security at the main campus entrance.
  • Make other arrangements. We recognize that you may want to return library materials but you can't come on campus. Please email us at rdclibrary@rdc.ab.ca and we will figure out the best way for you to return materials to us at this time, depending on your location and circumstances.
Access our Collection

Until August 30, there will be no access to our physical collection. Beginning August 31, RDC students, faculty, and staff can access the physical collection by placing a hold in advance. Library staff will find your item(s) on the shelf and email you when your hold is available for pickup at RDC Library.

Access to our vast collection of online resources continues to be available. Find those resources through our subject guides. You will need your iCard barcode and NEOS PIN to access online resources from home. Contact us if you need to know your barcode or PIN.

Access to NEOS and Other Library Collections

You cannot place a Hold on any NEOS Library material at this time.

Interlibrary Loan is available for electronic items, through desktop delivery. Interlibrary Loan for physical items is not available until further notice.

Instructors' Nursing Textbook Collection

Until August 30, faculty in the School of Health Sciences can borrow textbooks from the Instructors' Nursing Textbook Collection by emailing rdclibrary@rdc.ab.ca to make arrangements for pick-up. Beginning August 31, this collection will be available in-person.

Access to Technology (including laptops and equipment)

If you have technology needs for your online learning, email the Library at rdclibrary@rdc.ab.ca, to discuss your need and how we may be able to help.

Access to Printers

Until August 30, there is no access to printers for students. RDC's Print Centre may be able to asist; contact them to make arrangements. 
email printcentre@rdc.ab.ca | phone 403.342.3302​.

Beginning August 31, access the printers during our in-person hours.

Meet with a Librarian

Book an appointment for an in-depth online consultation related to an assignment or course. We can help you with your research questions around finding, evaluating, and citing sources.

Tutoring Services

Writing Skills Tutor

This service is closed for the summer.

ESL Tutor

This service is closed for the summer.

Math Tutor

This service is closed for the summer.

Learning Skills & Strategies

This service is closed for the summer.

Disability Resources and Accessibility Consultants

Book an appointment online

Appointments will be delivered by videoconference or phone.

Coronavirus Research

Contact RDC Library

Connect with any of the Library services:

  • Library
    research & citation help | access to books, databases, & resources | basic tech help

  • Academic Support
    tutoring | learning skills & strategies

  • Disability Resources

In person

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, we're closed to in-person traffic, but available to help you during Library Hours in all these other ways:

By chat (Instant Message)

Click Start Chat to start a conversation.  NOTE:  The conversation will be lost if you leave this page.

 

 

By text message (SMS)

Quick question? Text us at 403.800.8945

By email

Email us at RDCLibrary@rdc.ab.ca

By phone

Call us at 403.342.3344

By appointment

Meet with a Librarian: Request an online appointment

Writing Skills Centre: Request an online appointment (closed for the summer)

ESL Tutoring: Request an online appointment (closed for the summer)

Learning Skills Strategist: Request an online appointment (closed for the summer)

Disability Resources Coordinator: Request an online appointment

Accessibility Consultant: Request an online appointment

Research Common: Email researchcommon@rdc.ab.ca

Tell the Library!

RDC Library welcomes feedback and comments about our services and space. 

RDC Library welcomes suggestions of titles to purchase for our collection.