About Articles
Use articles for:
- research on your topic
- current, specific,
in-depth information
- peer-reviewed (scholarly) information
- reference lists for further research
Site Status
All of our resources are available.
If you are having trouble accessing an online resource, Contact Us!
Article Databases
The Library subscribes to the following licensed resources:
- Academic Search Complete
Provides full text scholarly, peer-reviewed publications. - Alberta Online EncyclopediaPortal developed by the Heritage Community Foundation. Consists of text, images, audio and video about Alberta.
- ALLDATA® OnlineA comprehensive resource for automotive diagnostic and repair information.
- Alt HealthWatchCovers the subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine.
- America: History and LifeIndex covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
- American Economic Association JournalsProvides access to seven AEA Journals.
- AnthropologyPlusIndexes the resources of Anthropological Literature database and Anthropological Index.
- ARTstorA digital library of images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences.
- ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials
Indexes articles, book reviews, and collections of essays on religion in American Theological Library Association's online collection. - Bibliography of Native North Americans
Bibliographic. Covers aspects of native culture, history, life, and topics in archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, legend, and literacy. - Biological & Agricultural IndexIndexes key international English-language periodicals in the biological and agricultural sciences.
- Business & Company Resource CenterIntegrates company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies and periodicals.
- Business Source Complete
Covers scholarly business journals back as far as 1886. - Canadian Book Review AnnualReviews of Canadian scholarly, reference, trade, children's, and youth books published in Canada.
- Canadian EncyclopediaProvides comprehensive information on Canada. Includes the Youth Encyclopedia, Encyclopedia of Music in Canada, and more.
- Canadian Literary CentreReference content from Essays on Canadian Writing Press (ECW Press). Includes book reviews, essays, author biographies, and much more.
- Canadian Newsstand Offers a collection of newspapers from across Canada, both dailies and community papers.
- Canadian Points of View Reference CentreProvides a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue.
- Canadian Reference CentreContains regional full text content to Canadian magazines, newspapers, newswires and reference books.
- Career Cruising An online career guidance and planning system. Create personal portfolios to optimize available features.
- CBCA Business
Canadian Business & Current Affairs. Covers all aspects of Canadian business, finance and economics. - CBCA Complete
Canadian Business & Current Affairs. Covers current events, business, science, the arts, and academic information as produced in Canada. - CBCA Reference & Current Events
Canadian Business & Current Affairs. Provides access to Canadian academic titles, special interest publications and general magazines. - Child Development & Adolescent Studies Covers current and historical literature related to the development of children through the age of 21, and on issues of Child Rights and welfare.
- CICA Standards and Guidance CollectionCICA Handbook – Accounting. Limit of 2 simultaneous users.
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text
Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature - Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials Contains bibliography of controlled trials identified by contributors to the Cochrane Collaboration and others.
- Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews Contains full text articles, as well as protocols focusing on the effects of healthcare.
- Columbia Grangers World of Poetry OnlineCovers the works of great poets, including Shelley, Blake, Burns, Keats, Marvell, Poe, and other major poets, as well as current poetry.
- Communication & Mass Media CompleteProvides research and reference sources in areas related to communication and mass media.
- CPI.QCanadian Periodicals Index. Articles from Canadian and international publications, including full text of selected sections of The Globe and Mail.
- CRC Handbook of Chemistry and PhysicsSource for data for physical and chemical properties and related topics.
- Credo ReferenceA customizable general reference solution, with content covering every major subject.
- Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness Includes abstracts of published systematic reviews on the effects of health care from around the world.
- DSM® LibraryPsychiatryOnline. DSM-IV-TR®, DSM-IV-TR® Handbook of Differential Diagnosis, and DSM-IV-TR® Casebook and its Treatment Companion.
- e-CPSCompendium of Pharmaceuticals & Specialities. Limit 5 Simultaneous Users.
- E-JournalsProvides access for e-journals available through EBSCO Subscription Services, as well as direct links to publishers' content.
- Early Canadiana OnlineA digital library providing access to a substantial amount of Canada's printed heritage. Library and Archives Canada.
- ebrary Academic Complete & Canadian Publishers CollectionAn E-book collection that spans all academic subject areas.
- EconLitCovers virtually every area related to economics. Provided by the American Economic Association.
- Education Research CompleteCovers areas of curriculum instruction, administration, policy, funding, and related social issues.
- Encyclopaedia Britannica The complete Britannica, Britannica Book of the Year, Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary.
- Environment CompleteCovers agriculture, ecosystem ecology, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, pollution & waste management, and much more.
- ERIC (Alternate Interface)Educational Resource Information Center. Education related citations from books, journals, and other documents. Includes ERIC Digests, short reports on topics of current interest in education.
- ERICEducational Resource Information Center. Education related citations from books, journals, and other documents. Includes ERIC Digests, short reports on topics of current interest in education.
- Family & Society Studies WorldwideCovers research, policy, and practice literature in Family Science, Human Ecology, Human Development, and Social Welfare.
- Gale Virtual Reference LibraryReference collection covering topics in health, science, art, history, biography and many more.
- Gender Studies DatabaseCovers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship.
- GeoGratisPortal provided by the Earth Sciences Sector (ESS) of Natural Resources Canada (NRCan) which provides geospatial data.
- Government of Canada PublicationsA collection of freely accessible electronic publications produced by departments and agencies across the Government of Canada.
- GreenFILE Covers all aspects of human impact to the environment.
- HazmatZoneArticles on material safety data for the most frequently used, stored, and transported hazardous chemicals.
- Health Reference Center AcademicIncludes nursing and allied health journals, plus a wide variety of personal health information sources.
- Health Source: Consumer EditionProvides information on health, including medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health.
- HeRMISHeritage Resources Management Information System. Gateway for virtual visitation of Alberta's heritage and cultural collections.
- Historical Abstracts Covers the history of the world (excluding the US and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
- Humanities International CompleteProvides journals, books and other published sources from around the world.
- Image CollectionContains images from photographs, images from Canadian Press, maps from MapQuest, photographs from public domain sources, and more.
- International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full TextResearch tool for the study of theatre and the performing arts.
- JAMAJournal of the American Medical Association.
- JSTOR Archive only of important scholarly journals.
- LearnAlberta: Online Reference Centre Covers multimedia research materials including encyclopedia databases, literature, pictures, and magazine articles.
- Literary Reference CenterProvides a broad spectrum of reference information from antiquity to the present day.
- Literature Resource Center
Contains information, overviews, literary criticism and reviews on writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world. - Mango LanguagesAn online language-learning system providing foreign language and ESL courses. A user profile is necessary for courses.
- MasterFILE PremierProvides general reference publications, covering general interest subject areas.
- Micromedex: Thomson HealthCare Series Includes text previously published as USP DI® Vol. 1 and USP DI® Vol. 2. and much more. Username & password needed for access.
- MLA International BibliographyInternational index produced by the Modern Language Association.
- Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database Provides information in conventional medicine, complementary, alternative, and integrative medicine.
- NatureWeekly international journal of peer-reviewed research in all fields of science and technology.
- OmniFile Full Text Select
Information on subjects including business, education, humanities, science, and social sciences. - Oxford English DictionaryGuide to the meaning, history, usage and pronunciation of words, and much more.
- Oxford Reference OnlineOffers indexed, cross-searchable dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works.
- Peel's Prairie ProvincesProvides access to original documents, books, pamphlets and photographs for the study of Canadian prairie history, biography and genealogy.
- Professional Engagement Manual (PEM)Provides the basic foundation for firms to develop policies, practices and procedures. Limit of 2 simultaneous users.
- Project MuseArticles from scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.
- Proquest Science JournalsCovers journals in physics, engineering, astronomy, biology, earth sciences, chemistry and more.
- PsycARTICLES American Psychological Association articles.
- PsychiatryOnline Portal for psychiatric references from American Psychiatric Publishing, Inc.
- PsychiatryOnline: Journals Contains the full content of American Psychiatric Publishing, Inc. (APPI) journals.
- Psychological ReportsAccess to v.66(1990)-present. Database of articles on empirical, theoretical, mainstream and alternative views on issues in Psychology.
- PsycINFO Covers psychology and related disciplines.
- PubMed CentralBiomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. NIH / NLM.
- RefWorks Online research management, writing and collaboration tool.
- Regional Business News Covers regional business publications from all metropolitan and rural areas within the US.
- ScienceDirect College EditionPeer-reviewed journals. Also includes hundreds of book series, handbooks and reference works.
- Shakespeare Collection
General reference data, reprinted criticism, primary source material and the annotated works from The Arden Shakespeare. - SocINDEX with Full Text
A comprehensive and high quality sociology research database. - SPORTDiscus with Full Text Covers sport, exercise, fitness, sports medicine, and other sports related disciplines.
- Statistics CanadaSearch the online catalogue of products and services.
- Tax Suite Premium Chartered Accountants of Canada's (CICA) online tax research databases.
- World BookIncludes primary source documents fully integrated with the encyclopedia content.
- World History in Context
Formerly History Resource Center. Includes reference, primary sources and images, maps and charts providing geographic and chronologic materials.


Loading...
